Trillium Book Award

The Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium is an annual book prize sponsored by the government of Ontario and is currently administered by one of its agencies, the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC). The Trillium Book Award was created in l987 by Wilfried (Wil) Vanderelst, then Director of the Libraries and Community Information Branch, with the support of David Silcox, Deputy Minister, and… (plus)


Sélection 2012

Dear Life: Stories

Trillium Book Award 2012

de Alice Munro


New York Times Notable Book

Washington Post Notable Work of Fiction

A Best Book of the Year: The Atlantic, NPR, San Francisco ChronicleVogue, AV Club...

Sélection 2009

The Boy in the Moon

RBC Taylor Prize 2010, Trillium Book Award 2009

de Ian Brown

A New York Times Top 10 Book of 2011

“[A]n intimate glimpse into the life of a family that cares around the clock for a disabled child, that gets so close to the love and despair, and the complex questions...

Sélection 2007


Trillium Book Award 2007

de Barbara Gowdy

From the internationally acclaimed author of The White Bone and The Romantic, a haunting and suspenseful novel of abduction and obsessive love Nine-year-old Rachel Fox has the face of an angel, a heart-stopping...

Sélection 2005

Sweetness in the Belly

Trillium Book Award 2005

de Camilla Gibb

Like Brick Lane and The Kite Runner, Camilla Gibb’s widely praised new novel is a poignant and intensely atmospheric look beyond the stereotypes of Islam. After her hippie British parents are murdered, Lilly...

Sélection 2002

Testament: A Novel

Trillium Book Award 2002

de Nino Ricci

A stunning fictional biography, Testament presents the earthly life of Jesus from the perspectives of four fascinating figures. In powerful accounts colored by their own beliefs and desires, the following men...

Sélection 2001

Clara Callan

Giller Prize 2001, Trillium Book Award 2001, Governor General's Award for Fiction 2001

de Richard B. Wright

In a small town in Canada, Clara Callan reluctantly takes leave of her sister, Nora, who is bound for New York. It's a time when the growing threat of fascism in Europe is a constant worry, and people escape...

Sélection 1998

The Love of a Good Woman: Stories

Giller Prize 1998, Trillium Book Award 1998

de Alice Munro


In eight new stories, a master of the form extends and magnifies her great themes--the vagaries of love, the passion that leads down unexpected paths, the chaos...

Sélection 1996

Fugitive Pieces: A Novel

Women's Prize for Fiction 1997, Trillium Book Award 1996

de Anne Michaels

A New York Times Notable Book of the YearWinner of the Lannan Literary Fiction AwardWinner of the Guardian Fiction AwardIn 1940 a boy bursts from the mud of a war-torn Polish city, where he has buried himself...

Sélection 1995

The Jade Peony

Trillium Book Award 1995

de Wayson Choy

The Jade Peony is a 2010 Canada Reads Selection! Chinatown, Vancouver, in the late 1930s and '40s provides the setting for this poignant first novel, told through the vivid and intense reminiscences of the three...

Sélection 1993

The Robber Bride

Trillium Book Award 1993

de Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood's The Robber Bride is inspired by "The Robber Bridegroom," a wonderfully grisly tale from the Brothers Grimm in which an evil groom lures three maidens into his lair and devours them, one by...

Sélection 1992

The English Patient

Trillium Book Award 1992

de Michael Ondaatje

With ravishing beauty and unsettling intelligence, Michael Ondaatje's Booker Prize-winning novel traces the intersection of four damaged lives in an Italian villa at the end of World War II. Hana, the exhausted...

Sélection 1990

Friend of My Youth: Stories

Trillium Book Award 1990

de Alice Munro


The ten miraculously accomplished stories in Alice Munro's Friend of My Youth not only astonish and delight but also convey the unspoken mysteries at the heart...

Sélection 1989

Rites of Spring: The Great War and the Birth of the Modern Age

Trillium Book Award 1989

de Modris , Professor of History Eksteins

Dazzling in its originality, witty and perceptive in unearthing patterns of behavior that history has erased, RITES OF SPRING probes the origins, the impact, and the aftermath of World War I -- from the premiere...

Sélection 1987

In the Skin of a Lion

Trillium Book Award 1987

de Michael Ondaatje

Bristling with intelligence and shimmering with romance, this novel tests the boundary between history and myth. Patrick Lewis arrives in Toronto in the 1920s and earns his living searching for a vanished millionaire...